GOVERNMENT MEDICAL COLLEGE & HOSPITAL, CHANDIGARH

Hospital (Building), Sector 32, Chandigarh-160047, Phone 0172-2665253-57, Fax No. 0172- 2608488 HOSPITAL ADMINISTRATION BRANCH-II

То

The Head Deptt. of _____ GMCH-32, Chandigarh.

No. GMCH-HAII-EA3(15)/2018/ Dated:-

Subject :

Reg. Minutes of meeting held under the Chairmanship of the Medical Superintendent, GMCH, Chandigarh, on 08.02.2018 at 3.00 pm regarding starting of Antibiotics Stewardship programme in GMCH, Chandigarh.

Reference this office order endst. No. GMCH-HAII-EA3(53)-2018/57780-85 dated 08.03.2018 vide which it was decided that the specific authorization for the prescribed antibiotics should be started in the individual department in terms of which antibiotic should be prescribed by the residents and which should be prescribed by the consultants. This policy should be designed at the level of the department and each department will make its policy by making a sub-committee in their department on this issue and each deptt. should provide with a list of antibiotic spectrum which is being used in their department with 15 days. But till date no reply has been received.

You are requested to provide a list of antibiotic spectrum which is being used in your department within 07 days positively.

Office Superintendent (HA-II) Medical Superintendent

Endst.No. GMCH-HAII-EA3(15)/2018/

A copy is forwarded to System Analyst, IT Centre, GMCH to ecirculate/email the same to HODs of Clinical deptt. except deptt. of Dentistry, Cardiology, Pulmonary Medicine, Ophthalmology & Obst. & Gynae, GMCH-32, Chandigarh

for

for

Dated :

Office Superintendent (HA-II) Medical Superintendent

Government Medical College & Hospital, Chandigarh Hospital Administration – II

Minutes of meeting held on 08.02.2018 at 3.00 pm under the Chairmanship of the Medical Superintendent regarding starting of Antibiotics. Stewardship programme in GMCH, Chandigarh.

The following members attended the meeting:

- 1. Dr. Varsha Gupta, Dept. of Microbiology
- 2. Dr. P.N. Gupta, Deptt. Of Orthopaedics
- 3. Dr. Reeti Mehra, Deptt. Of Obst. & Gynae
- 4. Dr. Malla Bhalla Deptt. Of Dermatology
- 5. Dr. Deepak Chawla, Deptt. Of Paediatrics
- 6. Dr. Kamal Singh, Dept. of General Medicine
- 7. Dr. Parul Ichhpujani, Deptt. Of Ophthalmology
- 8. Dr. Vanita Ahuja, Deptt. Of Anaesthesia
- 9. Dr. Nitin Gupta, Deptt. Of ENT
- 10. Dr. Richa Saroa, Deptt. Of Anaesthesia
- 11. Dr. Sushma Deptt. Of General Surgery
- The Chairman informed the members of the committee that Dr. Varsha Gupta, Nodal Officer of the Committee will send a soft copy of previous antibiotics programme by email to all the members of the committee.
- All the members unanimously expressed that the antibiotic susceptibility should be made available department-wise so that presumptive antibiotic in the individual department can be started before the reporting of the culture sensitivity.
- 3. All the committee members resolved unanimously that the department of Microbiology should test and provide sensitivity profile to first-line antibiotics.
- 4. All the members of the committee agreed to this suggestion by Dr. Vaneeta Ahuja that if the patient is taking any antibiotic(s), latter should be documented on the form which is sent for culture sensitivity for antibiotic. Each department should ensure that this practice is followed by healthcare professionals sending samples for culture and sensitivity.
- 5. It was decided to constitute a sub-committee consisting of members i.e. Dr. Varsha Gupta, Dr. Richa Saroa, Dr. Deepak Chawa and Dr. Kamal Singh who will try to get the data from HIMS regarding the department-wise antibiotic sensitivity pattern.

A

57

- 6. Dr. Richa Saroa suggested that a roster should be made between the faculty member
- from the Microbiology Department and clinical department guide the antibiotic use. Dr. Bhogal suggested that expert from the Pharmacology department should be added to the program. It was decided to formulate the committee of the following members under the Chairmanship of the MS to take a decision in this matter. The members of the committee are: Dr. Bhogal, DMS, HOD Microbiology, HOD Pharmacology, Dr. Reeti Mehra, Dr. Deepak Chawla.
- 7. On recommendations of all members of the committee, It was decided that the Microbiology laboratory should work during night hours also.
- 8. Dr. Bhogal suggested that specific authorization for the prescribed antibiotics should be started in the individual department in terms of which antibiotic should be prescribed by the residents and which should be prescribed by the consultants. Dr. Deepak further added that this policy should be designed at the level of the department. It was decided that each department will make its policy by making a sub- committee in their department on this issue.
- 9. Dr. Deepak suggested that we should have a monthly interactive programme between the clinicians, microbiologists and pharmacologists and others where there can be discussion on this issue especially with the recent advancement. It was decided that Dr. Deepak is designated as Nodal Officer for starting this programme on monthly basis in consultation with the MS.

- 10. The committee was of the unanimous opinion that the first recommendation of antibiotic stewardship programme should come before 7th April 2018. It was decided that Dr. Deepak Chawla, Dr. Kamal Singh, Dr. Richa Saroa will help Dr. Varsha Gupta in this programme.
- 11. The committee also decided that each department should provide with a list of antibiotic spectrum which is being used in their department not later than 15 days.

The meeting with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

Dr. Sushma Member

Dr. Parul Ichhpujani Member

9

Dr. Deepak Chawla Member

Dr. Richa Saroa Member

Dr. Kamal Singh

Member

Prof. P.N

Member

In Leave

Dr. Nitin VG Member

Male Brall

Dr. Malla Bhalla Member

AAR. Prof. Varsha Gupta Member

Dr. Vir Member

Dr. Reeti-Mehra Member

Dr. R.P.S.Bhogal

WE GENERATION dicha Gende a mia

9.18.3

St with them

Prof. Ravi Gupta 6.2.10 Medial Superintendent Chairman

kind affred of the

