Department of Microbiology

Started in 1992
Name Qualification Designation
arrow Dr. Jagdish Chander
MD, DNB, MAMS Professor & Head
arrow Dr. Varsha Gupta
MD, DNB, MAMS Professor
arrow Dr. Nidhi Singla
MD Associate Professor
arrow Dr. Lipika
MD Assistant Professor
Dr. Neelam Gulati MD Assistant Professor
Demonstration - 06 Nos.
The Department provided diagnostic services to patients attending the attached hospital. The section-wise break-up of clinical specimens, processed during the last two years (2011 and 2012), is given below:-
Name Qualification Designation
Bacteriology Investigations 2011 2012
Urine culture sensitivity 11019 13694
Pus+Body fluids culture sensitivity 3486 4061
Blood culture sensitivity 7301 6975
CSF culture sensitivity 810 640
Sputum culture sensitivity 288 1098
Stool culture sensitivity 084 058
Semen culture sensitivity 064 063
Placental membrane culture sensitivity 199 329
Throat swab culture sensitivity 68 244
Biopsy/Tissue culture sensitivity 185 140
Tip/tracheal secretions culture sensitivity 1197 1050
Bile culture sensitivity 180 292
BAL culture sensitivity 198 329
Corneal scraping culture sensitivity 356 292
Bone marrow culture sensitivity 36 39
Anaerobic bacterial culture 19 240
Direct Examination
Gram’s Stain 9096 11218
India Ink preparation 749 782
Albert Stain 27 67
Hanging drop preparation 65 27
Ziehl-Neelsen staining 2990 3388
Hospital Surveillance
Hospital sterility swab culture sensitivity 486 803
Bacteriological analysis of water 125 157
Pre and/or post fumigation samples 372 280
Disinfectant testing Nil


Stool R/E 391 322
PBF for MP 68 64
PBF for Microfilariae 48 51
Stool for occult blood 58 64
Medical Mycology
KOH wet mounts 1329 989
Fungal culture 1342 1018
PCR 64 23
Sputum for AFB & culture 1018 1469
Endometrial biopsy 332 313
Body fluids 651 713
Urine 115 207
BAL/Bronchial secretions 213 279
Gastric aspirate 110 235
Pus 61 70
Bone marrow 09 15
Tissue 51 85
FOB 15 65
Semen 10 08
CSF 21 37
Stool 09 11
Smear for Mycobacterium leprae 07 04
Nocardia species 14 23
AFB culture 788 710
ADA 682 682
HIV serology 9471 9680
HCV ELISA 4013 5461
HBsAg ELISA 7290 8630
HAV serology 338 594
HEV serology 371 613
MP Serology 504 993
Dengue ELISA IgM and NS1Ag 986 3144
Toxoplasma ELISA IgM, IgG 300 312
Rubella ELISA IgM, IgG 242 320
Cytomegalovirus (CMV) ELISA IgM, IgG 198 312
Herpes simplex virus (HSV) ELISA IgM, IgG 190 328
RA 1197 1134
CRP 1257 1180
ASO 103 98
Widal Test 3437 2983
RPR 5252 5206
Clostridium difficile ELISA (Toxins A and B) 6 10
The Department provided diagnostic services to patients attending the attached hospital. The section-wise break-up of clinical specimens, processed during the last two years (2011 and 2012), is given below:-


The Letter of Permission (LOP) was granted by the MCI on 16.03.2009 to start MD (Microbiology) course in our institute with an intake of three students per year for the first three batches and later on increased to four students per year. This degree awarded by the Panjab University, Chandigarh and has been recognised by the MCI in May 2012. Two batches of PG students, 2 each has passed out and have been awarded MD degree. Classes, discussion, seminars and journal clubs are routinely being organized for PG teaching in the Department. The PG students are involved in diagnostics, academics and research (thesis) work as a part of their curriculum. In addition, the students of MD (Transfusion Medicine) and MD (Community Medicine) are being posted for a short-term of fortnight in the Department during their course tenure.


A total of 50 students each year are being trained in Microbiology since 1992 with affiliation to the Panjab University, Chandigarh. We are holding four theory classes, two practical classes and one tutorials per week for the 2nd Professional MBBS students. In addition, the seminars on different topics are being organised.


The Department is part of BSc (MLT) three-years’ teaching programme since September 25, 2006. A total of 12 students are admitted each year. Three students are posted in Microbiology at one point of time from each batch for practical rotatory training for the period of three months. We are holding one theory class and one practical class per week for each batch and also one seminar on per month. The Department is also engaged in imparting microbiology training to the students of BSc. (Ophthalmic Techniques), BSc (X-ray Technician), BSc (OT Technician) courses. The Department is also providing training to the BPT students from Saket College of Physiotherapy, Chandimandir, Panchkula, Haryana.
The Department of Microbiology was started in the year 1992 with intake of first batch of 50 MBBS students in 2nd Professional on 01.01.1993. The Department has adequate infrastructure for imparting teaching to medical undergraduates and postgraduates. At present the Department of Microbiology is headed by Prof. Jagdish Chander and has five faculty members. It also has six Demonstrators, two Postgraduates, one Infection Control Nurse, one Clerk, one Junior Scale Stenographer, two Senior and sixteen Junior Laboratory Technicians, seven Laboratory Attendants and two Peons. The theory and practical teaching of 2nd Professional MBBS students is being looked after by all the faculty members, demonstrators and assisted by technical staff. The Department is conducting teaching programmes in microbiology including theory lectures, seminars, practical demonstrations and tutorials. The students are being taught in various disciplines of Microbiology like Bacteriology, Virology, Parasitology, Mycology, Immunology and Medical Entomology. The postgraduate teaching started in June 2009 and since than four batches of students have taken admission in this stream and at present two postgraduates are there in the Department. We are doing routine microbiological investigations and infection control surveillance testing. We have three funded projects, two from the ICMR and one from the DST being undertaken in the Department. Our Department is engaged in National Programme on Surveillance of Antimicrobial Resistance i.e. INSAR and also national networks on Zygomycosis and Canidemia under the aegis of Society for Indian Human and Animal Mycologists (SIHAM). The Department has ICTC for AIDS testing under the NACO, SACS and WHO programmes. Recently the Department has started clinical rounds in the hospital to begin with the ICU. There is regular monthly meeting of the Hospital Infection Control Committee (HICC) being held on first Wednesday of every month under the chairmanship of the Medical Superintendent to discuss and tackle various aspects of Hospital Acquired Infections. The Department has active liaison with Integrated Disease Surveillance Project (IDSP) and National Vector Borne Disease Control Programme (NVBDCP), Chandigarh in consultation with the Department of Community Medicine of our institute for tackling menace of cholera, dengue, malaria, meningitis and similar other infectious diseases of public health importance.